Sorry, didn't realised we were formal round here. lol

Apr 26, 2007
Visit site
I have just had a couple of rants on various subjects and just found this part of the forums.

Please forgive me for not introducing myself properly.

I have been caravanning for the last twelve months after a twenty year break a Bailey Pageant Champagne (wth an eye to an Arizona or Knaus 560) with a Sorrento diesal, and was amazed at the advances in what a caravan has, full A/C electrics!?!, toilets that don't make your eyes water even before you use them, wow. MICROWAVES!!!

When I started with my parents more years ago than I am willing to admit, foot pumps and gaz mantles were about as good as it got, which frankly we were glad of at times for the heat they gave off on those cold March weekends we started our caravanning year with. 16 foot vans were THE ultimate in space and facilities, provided you could put up with the Land Rover Defender (or was it a 110) needed to tow it, nobody with a Range Rover would sully it with a tow bar 'in them days'

Winter trips were for hardy of soul or, criminally insane to suffer.

Never mind the standard of sites caravanners now expect, with showers that put four star hotels to shame and even full service pitches (OK still rare ish) where you don't even have to refill your aquaroll (space age technology way back when) I fear we have all gone soft. I know I have, with motor movers to get the caravan in JUST the place and even using a cordless drill to put the legs down. I DON'T EVEN NEED MATCHES TO GET THE KETTLE ON WHEN WE ARRIVE.