Subaru Forester

Dec 19, 2005
Visit site
Hi all, I am new to caravaning and have a Subaru forester S turbo AWD.

the owners manual say it will pull 1800Kg but I want to take my grandparents lunar lexon ew van away next season. which weights 1600Kg mtplm.

I wanted to double check the car would be fine towing as my local van dealers say the car only weights 1500kg which is wrong and so could not really pull more than the weight of the car. I know it is at least 1700Kg

My other car Honda FRV is only FWD, weights less than my forester and has less power. So you cannot tell me it can tow the same. thats what I am being told

any help or info as i am being told many different things

regards

Matt

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
If the owner's manual says it may pull 1800kg then it will also say what its kerbweight is. The brochure of the new Forester Turbo also quotes 1485kg (manual) and 1510kg (automatic) so the figure which your dealer gave you sounds about right. (The max. permissible towload of the current Forester, by the way, is 2000kg)

Dec 19, 2005
Visit site
If the owner's manual says it may pull 1800kg then it will also say what its kerbweight is. The brochure of the new Forester Turbo also quotes 1485kg (manual) and 1510kg (automatic) so the figure which your dealer gave you sounds about right. (The max. permissible towload of the current Forester, by the way, is 2000kg)
So why then does the details in the practical caravan mags even tell you the max tow weight when you should not pull that weight?

Some of the larger 4x4's can pull over a ton more then they weight. but why is that any good when puuling a caravan theou should not pull more then the weight of the car

cheers

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Matthew,