TFT Flatscreens

Mar 11, 2004
Visit site
Hi,

I am a computer manager, so I am well up on the techie side of things generally. However, I am interested in getting a flatscreen for my caravan and I know that most P.C, Home TV and mobile caravan versions, work on 12v AC - they have a transformer to step down the 240V ac to 12v ac. I also understand that you can get them to work under 12V DC, from the car's cigerette lighter, as the saleman at Earls Court showed me. However, no salesman could understand what I was saying when I wanted to know if it would work under 12v dc off the caravan battery. One salesman said you could [vaguely] and the other said you run it from the car battery with an optional lead. I thought this is rediculous as you cannot leave you ignition on with a lead dangling outside the van, running your car battery flat.

So! Can someone please tell me if it is possible to plug a flatscreen into the 12v socket IN THE CARAVAN!

Thanks to you all,

Toby.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
YES you can but TFT seem more sensitive (mine does) to voltage drop and you can get sound with no picture.I have rewired with heavier cable via a fuse from the van battery to the Tv socket .See my reply earlier in the week to save repetition A problem my friend had with an LG TV was getting the peculiar TV plug and after an exhaustive search (Maplins etc etc) Leisure Power of Warrington were able to supply one.Hope that helps

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site