Tow Car pairing

Mar 25, 2017
Visit site
I have a Toyota RAV 4 5 door 4WD 2litre Petrol Manual. I have bought a 1999 Bailey Ranger 510/4. I checked on one website which said good match. I have checked on another which gives different result saying experienced towers only. Can anyone advise. I have been a truck driver but have not towed a caravan,

Feb 3, 2008
Visit site
Your towing ratio is MTPLM/(kerb weight) ie 1199/1275, which comes to 94%. The recommendation is for persons new to towing a caravan to use a ratio no larger than 85% and for more experienced towers up to 100%. The reason being as vans have high sides they are not 'ideal' trailers to tow and are easily affected by crosswinds and buffeting from other traffic.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hi mrw5646,

One of the major and recurring problems of using tow matching services, is they all use different databases, and I am pretty certain ALL of these data bases contain some errors or omit some details. This means you mustn't implicitly trust any result from them. It is vitally important for the details they have about cars and caravan are for the exact make and model, becasue similar models may have some very different technical detail that affects their towing characteristics. Even the level of trim (eg, Grand Luxury vs Grand Luxury Sport) has been known to affect towing performance even though the same engine and power is available. This can be a particular issue with sites based abroad where multinational car companies sell what appear to be the same car, but it may well have different specifications in different markets.