Towball hitch query

Aug 17, 2023
Visit site
Complete noob to the world of towing and Caravaning, looks a great forum so hopefully someone can help with a bit of advice.

Picked up a Kia Sorento last week and it came with a towbar and I believe an Alko removable tow ball.

I’m struggling to tell whether the tow ball is located correctly.

In the image, it clicked into position but the dial sits a fair bit away from the body of the tow ball. The instructions supplied appear to show that the dial should be tight or closer to the body.

Also, in a moment of faffing, managed to remove the lock cylinder completely from the housing.

Is this simply a security measure and shouldn’t affect it locking into position or not?

Any advice appreciated, Chris.
IMG_7583.jpeg

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
Welcome to the forum, I don’t recognise your hitch system. So cant help. The two detachables I have had could be fitted ‘nearly’ but not 100%. It could be moved slightly from side to side. I don’t know if it was safe because I would refit it until it was solid.

John

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
Complete noob to the world of towing and Caravaning, looks a great forum so hopefully someone can help with a bit of advice.

Picked up a Kia Sorento last week and it came with a towbar and I believe an Alko removable tow ball.

I’m struggling to tell whether the tow ball is located correctly.

In the image, it clicked into position but the dial sits a fair bit away from the body of the tow ball. The instructions supplied appear to show that the dial should be tight or closer to the body.

Also, in a moment of faffing, managed to remove the lock cylinder completely from the housing.

Is this simply a security measure and shouldn’t affect it locking into position or not?

Any advice appreciated, Chris.
View attachment 5362
Welcome to the forum.