Towing - the right match?

Aug 23, 2005
Visit site
I am new to caravanning, and have found it useful to read the pointers on the forum. However, here is my dilemna. Due to my height, I am interested in the Dethleffs 520 with a MRO of 1270 and MTPLM of 1400. The towcar Vectra Estate 2.0 DTi is 1582 kerbweigh - 85% = 1264, and the max. tow weight (less than the kerb weight is 1400kg.

Dilema

Fully laden it would match the MTPLM, and at 88.5% of the car's kerb weight would exceed the 85% recommendation.

Sorry for the novel, but being new to caravanning, with no towing experience, I would be interested in advise from the experienced caravanners whether this is 'biting off more than I can chew?'

Thanks

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Ian,

As you rightly point out the 85% figure is a recommendation, and if you excede it you will not be prosecuted, provided you remain within the car manufactures max towing limit.

In your chosen case you are right on limits, but at 88.5% that should not really pose a problem provided you take things carefully and sensibly.

If possible try to be as light as you reasonably can in the caravan, and of course keep heavy object low down and near the axle.

Have fun

Aug 23, 2005
Visit site
Thanks for the response, I would plan to utilise the car, and the roof box to its full capacity, especially for the awning and general luggage.

Should I expect to get any snaking just because I am at 88.5% even with stabilsiers and a safe driving speed?

Also, is their any problem matching the cars maximum tow weight of 1,400kg, or is the ratio to kerb weight more important?

Thanks

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com