Towing with a pick up truck

Aug 30, 2023
Visit site
Hello to all,

Complete newbie here..

We are looking to buy our first caravan and a tow vehicle to match. I ride off road motorcycles and so a pick up truck is ideal for us. I have read many old posts from various sites about whether or not a pick up truck is a suitable vehicle for towing a caravan due to the stiffness of the suspension. The point being made was that it was too rigid to absorb the general road surfaces of the UK as well as any of the larger bumps/potholes etc. This was then transferring this energy through to the draw bar and cracking the chassis. Particularly mentioned were Alko chassis’.

My question is, was this the case and is now resolved or is this still a concern?

Thanks in advance for your inputs.

Seano

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
There was a member who towed his caravan with a Navaro pickup, a new one probably 2-3 years ago. He was aware of the various views on pick ups but reckoned the Navaro was no harder than some cars. Try searching for posts from Jezzer.

PS our roads haven't improved much and I don't think also have made changes to chassis.

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
I have heard these warnings regarding 4x4’s, but plenty tow with them without a problem. Also lorries. But caravan transport companies use them to move vans around the country. I had a new van that clocked up at least 100 miles beyond a lorry being returned for remedial work.

You can get shock absorbent hitches, but I don't know if they are legal in the UK.

John

PS
Last time I looked these hitches were very expensive. But I have just found this very cheap one. (American). I notice it has no mention of permissible loadings.

Last edited:
Nov 6, 2005
Visit site
One big issue is that some, perhaps all, caravan makers void the warranty if the caravan is towed by a pickup or a truck - despite that's how many get delivered that way.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site