towing with automatics

Jun 28, 2007
Visit site
Hi John

automatic all the way for me.

I've been driving them for over 10 years now and wouldn't go back.

I've towed with 3 autos (Merc ML , Freeland 2 and Discover 3) and non have ever missed a beat when towing. All very capably.

I find that journeys are stess free , especially when you're in traffic or unfamilier areas. Not having to worry about gear change means you can give more of your concentration to the road ahead and what your outfit is doing. Thus avoiding problems enroute.

Since changing to autos any long journeys are I do now I arrive fresher and less tired.

Oct 30, 2006
Visit site
We tow with a Honda CRV Auto, petrol version, the drive and ease really make a difference but as with all good things in life , it costs a bit more .

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Automatic, having driven that way since I bought a new Ford Zodiac auto in 1962. Why work harder than you need to?

BTW, someone said they're more expensive, but over high mileage, the auto is actually cheaper, as you don't have to replace clutches and gearboxes.Over 180,000 miles taxi work in a Peugeot 504 auto I was hundreds of pounds better off than my mate with an identical manual car.

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
Fully agree that for towing an auto makes life very easy. Howver I'd always go for the conventional auto with a torque convertor as the CVT/DSG types are not so reliable. DSGs are more a gearbox with the clutches actuated by servo rather than by your left leg.

Cheers

Other Clive

DJP

May 12, 2006
Visit site
Hi John,

I have owned and towed with both of these vehicles over the 2-3 years, both being auto.