Towing with Peugeot 307 SW

May 10, 2007
Visit site
I'm looking to by a van but currently drive a Peugeot 307 SW 1.6 litre with max towing limit of 1200kg set by manufacturer. Nose weight limit is 60kg. Both not very high! Kerb weight is 1436Kg

Has anyone towed with this type of Peugeot or got any advice?

Looking at discussions on the forum I am convinced that I need to upgrade the car to get a higher towing limit and nose weight to increase my options.

Sep 14, 2006
Visit site
Hi

I am new to caravanning last year so bought an Adria Optima 400 (about 1100kg) to see if we like it. I drive a 307 hatch 2 litre HDi 90 bhp. I think the later 1.6 HDI's are either 90 or 110 bhp. 60kg nose weight is achievable with correct loading ie not carrying 2 gas bottles in the front locker loading heavier stuff over the axle / to the rear of the axle etc.

The Adria website actually advertises one of its newer vans Altea I think with a picture of a 307 hatch pulling it.

My 307 tows our small van fine but now we want to get a bigger van so will be upgrading - possibly to the new Zafira which has pretty impressive credentials in the 120 and 150 bhp 1.9 diesels.

But yes it is possible to get out there and caravan with a plastic pug.

Mat

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
We tow a 850kg (max) pop-top caravan with a 1.6 HDi 110. It pulls fine on most roads, but even a caravan this light makes it a bit sluggish on long hills deep in France. We can hold 60mph no prob on UK motorways, it's the undulating and windy (roads that wind, not roads subject to strong winds) rural roads that are more challenging.

Honest John in the Daily Torygraph rates the 1.6HDI very highly - it is used by Peugeot, Citroen, Volvo, Ford and Mazda. It is a very capable and economical engine.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/main.jhtml?menuId=2776&menuItemId=-1&view=HEADLINESUMMARY&grid=F7&targetRule=10

Feb 15, 2006
Visit site