Viscosity of oil

Page 3 - Passionate about caravans & motorhome? Join our community to share that passion with a global audience!
Nov 28, 2007
Visit site
Over the past 3 months we have done a couple of long trips towing the caravan so assumed that this would have cleaned the DPF. I am not a mechanic so unknown territory to me.
My Xtrail would never do a DPF clean when towing, but often did one a day or so after arriving at our destination, often with a DPF warning light. The thoughts were on the forum that if the engine was hot, the DPF clean was inhibited to prevent getting too hot. My Outlander did a big tow to Scotland this year, plus lots of slow driving around when there, then a big tow back. A week or so when home I was aware the the oil level had gone up to the X level (overfull) and had to go to the dealer for a forced re-gen and oil change (£240). It had clocked up a number of failed passive re-gens but no DPF warning light. My conclusion is when towing they don't re-gen.
Top of my diesel wish list is a dashboard light saying "DPF nearly full, give it a blast!"

JTQ

May 7, 2005
Visit site
Top of my diesel wish list is a dashboard light saying "DPF nearly full, give it a blast!"

I would settle happily for just an indicator telling me it was doing a DPF clean; after all, it very clearly knows it is.
The times we have stopped the wife's Golf to twig from the cooling fan it was part into a clean, something we far rather we knew so did not stop it.

The Disco 4 we never have had a clue, but clearly it has happened.
Still I would like to know. With that towing hardly stresses it, the towing speed limit and real life speeds trundling on the flat motorway from miles is a doddle, therefore, I can't see towing being a cause for inhibiting it doing a DPF clean.

Reactions: JezzerB
Jan 31, 2018
Visit site
It's very annoying . Must be easy for manufacturers to do. A friend has an obd reader Bluetooth to phone and so knows when his is going a regen(too often!)

JTQ