Whats happened to caravanning

Oct 7, 2006
Visit site
What has happened to the hobby of caravanning, all we read about and see are vehicles with fridges, freezers, ovens, TV., double beds, central heating etc. Unless sites have mod cons the people moan like mad. I have been caravanning for many years and the sights are becoming a Butlins Holiday Camp on wheels. We used to look forward getting away from the crowds into the country. I attended a site the other week whereby a person next to us got out a tape measure and measured the distance of his pitch, then sat in the van for 3 days doing nothing but watching TV.

Dec 30, 2009
Visit site
Nothing, people just like to do what makes them happy, be it a campsite hi d hi style or in the middle of no where, we are all catered for not like the good old days when you got what you were given

Kevin H

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
As Kevin has said "nothing"

I could sit around an oil lamp for light and warmth in a wooden shed, but I prefer bricks and mortar with electric lights and gas central heating.

Times have moved on and I for one I say live and let live.

Regards Nidge

Feb 3, 2006
Visit site
Despite all the mod cons in their van I still can't understand why people want to que for the showers, trudge across campsites clutching washbags and towels.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Stephen,

Thank heavens we are all different, But what is I belive is important is to accept and respect other peoples different approach and reasosns for doing what they do.

So unless it is actually interfereing with you, please tollerate others activities, perhaps they feel they cannot understand your wish to deprive yourself of some of the mod cons?

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site