Whats next ?

Page 2 - Passionate about caravans & motorhome? Join our community to share that passion with a global audience!
May 7, 2012
Visit site
The entry barrier to one or two CC sites do have very narrow barriers. At Whitewater Park I do not go up as far as you should as you have to then move out into the entry lane and the barrier is tight for the manouvre at the best of times. With an 8 ft caravan it would be a nightmare.
Chatsworth House has had a few scrapes through the turns as you go in and a wider caravan would make it worse.

MichaelE said:
ProfJohnL said:
What does having a fob entry have to do with the width of a caravan? or the width of the site entry?
Because the reader sticks out so you dont have to get out of the vehicle.Most are protected by metal bars as they continue to get hit by caravans, with an extra 3" the chances increase?

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
davedart said:
............I am a quality Engineer and would love to audit the quality process for the main manufacturers................. :)

Hello Dave,

You'd have a heart attack, 20 odd years ago I worked for a major OEM supplier to the caravan manufacturers. As a result of our own QA procedures, we identified that many of the problems customers reported to us were actually down to the caravan manufacturers failing to install our products correctly. As a result we arranged to visit all the caravan manufactures we sold to, and discuss and try and resolve the issues with them.

I saw first hand the production lines at ABI, Autotrail, Avondale, Bailey, CI(Newmarket) Cosalt, Elldis, Fleetwood, Lunar, Swift and others.