When did you first do it ?

Jan 15, 2008
Visit site
Join the Caravan Club I mean (not sure what you were thinking I meant!) I have just checked and in my case it was 30th June 1978 which I find interesting because that means I had been caravanning for 3 years before joining the club.So must have only used comercial sites (can't really remember ,age thing I guess)
I have stickers for being a member for 25 and 30 years but not sure if they do one for 35 years.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
The first time was June 1967 but I had some years as a non-member as I didn't have a van for that period - out of the country too much. When I rejoined I was slightly miffed that they would not give me my old membership number back as it had stuck in my mind. A 1968 issue of En Route featured a short article I wrote describing how to build your own direction indicator bulb failure alarm unit - very basic involving 12v dc relays and a current sensor consisting of a reed switch 'potted' with evostik inside a coil of single conductor copper wire. Surprisingly I had sufficient enquires to contemplate setting up a small production line but again the pressure of the day job prevented this. Might have had Mr Hella shaking in his shoes (I think not).

Oct 30, 2009
Visit site
hi all,
first joined CC in 1972, year after we bought a 1968 10ft ace airsrteam, but let the membership lapse after 4years, as we were using commercial sites most of the time. the CC at that time seemed to be full of old fogeys that tutted every time the kids came out of the van to play. the sites were more expensive than commercial ones, and everything on site seemed to be regimented and run by onsite wardens that carried a rule book in their pockets,

we rejoined 4years ago mainly to take benifit of the club insurance and mayday recovery and were very supprised to find very little had changed exept that now "we are the old fogeys". a bit like that day you get up look in the mirror and think my god i'm my dad,

May 7, 2012