Which awning?

Jun 15, 2016
Visit site
Hello,

Weve just bought a xplore 526 caravan and are after an awning for it. Were complete newbies to this and is our first caravan.
We have been told we need a 965/970cm awning, thr question is which ones the best to buy??

Thanks

Aug 11, 2015
Visit site
Hi TheWesterns

I've had many awnings over the years, full and porch. We recently bought our new van and also purchased a new porch awning. We went for the Dorema Oslo 275. A great awning well made and easy to put up. We site our van for most of the year so when we go to France for the summer (5 weeks) we bring a light weight awning. It all depend on what you want the awning for. But for under 400 pounds you could do a lot worse than the dorema.

Good luck Tony

Mel

Mar 17, 2007
Visit site
Hi The Westerns. Welcome to the forum. There are broadly two cat agonies of awning:
Full awnings run all the way around the awning rail and you need to buy the right size for your van. In your case 965/970. Full awnings give you lots of space, but can take awhile to put up; great for longer hols, but maybe not for short trips.

Porch awnings run only run across the flat top bit of the awning rail. They tend to be lighter weight and quicker to put up. You have to check the size if you don't want the sides falling across a window. Porch awnings come as poled or air awnings. See the threads on here about air awnings

Many folks have a full awning and a porch awning and use whichever is best for the length of stay. All awnings come in a range of qualities and prices from cheap and cheerful to expensive heavy duty like Isabella. Really you need to think about what you need an awning for ( they are not compulsory) and shop accordingly.

In case you haven't heard: awnings are known as " the divorce in a bag" by caravanners :cheer:
Mel

May 24, 2014
Visit site