Which new battery should we buy?

Dec 6, 2013
Visit site
Not sure if it's the fault of the previous owners of our first caravan before we bought it last summer, or our blissful ignorance since, but we've had the battery checked and it's knackered. Can anyone give us a steer as to what we should be looking for in a new one? Are there any specifications, features or brands that are particularly good or bad? Any advice appreciated, I'm a complete novice in these matters!

Thanks

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
Hi, a lot depends on how you use your caravan.
If you regularly attend off grid caravan rallies with no battery charging facilities you will need a leisure battery with a higher amp/hour rating. The higher the amp/hour rating the longer the battery would last before it needed to be re-charged but remember that the battery casing will be bigger so you'd need to measure your battery compartment.
If you have a motor mover fitted but always stick to sites with 240v electric hook up (ehu) then a good car battery might be better for providing the power for the motor mover.
If you don't have a motor mover but stay on sites with ehu then a gel leisure battery with a lower amp/ hour rating (meaning less weight) would suit you best. Gel filled leisure batteries are safer to handle and lower gassing than lead acid liquid type batteries.
We have a 110amp/hour Numax gel filled leisure battery which has provided good service, no doubt various makes will be suggested so my advice is to buy the best battery that your budget allows.
Click Here for more information

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Like Parksy we have a Numax but the 120 ah. It was £10.00 more than the 110. It's 4 years old and has a fairly hard life . Two caravans back and a bit on the current ( sic) one we had an Avon which lasted 8 years .