Would you buy a caravan with a unusable alko wheel

Mar 2, 2018
Visit site
Hi all
The used caravan we are buying has an Alko wheel lock receiver fitted. However, there is apparently a bolt in the receiver that cannot be removed making the alko unusable. The dealer has said there is nothing they can do. I just want to check that this wont be a problem in the future. Cant we just use an alternative wheel lock or wheel clamp?

Been total beginners I just want to be sure we wont have a problem down the line

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
Yes you can use an alternative wheel clamp/lock. There are some really heavy ones more suitable for home storage, (Bulldog Titan, Milenco with concrete in its legs) and lighter ones more suited for touring. Surprised that your dealer can’t remove the Alko bolt as without doubt Alko are very good. Strange that the bolt is there on its own as the normal bolt pushes through the Alko and into the receiver on the chassis. But if it pushed all the way through the clamp would just come off the wheel. Perhaps someone put a non standard bolt in just to stop dirt going into the receiver and it has corroded. Penetrating oil and patience combined with a good spanner might get it out.

Jun 26, 2017
Visit site
AnastieByte said:
Hi all
The used caravan we are buying has an Alko wheel lock receiver fitted. However, there is apparently a bolt in the receiver that cannot be removed making the alko unusable. The dealer has said there is nothing they can do. I just want to check that this wont be a problem in the future. Cant we just use an alternative wheel lock or wheel clamp?

Been total beginners I just want to be sure we wont have a problem down the line

Saying there’s “a bolt in the receiver that cannot be removed” sounds like a rather strange thing for them to say ...