7 & 13 pin electrics

Sep 11, 2022
Visit site
Morning guys, so we finally, after a few week searching around found our 1st family van. Looking for some knowledge and advice if possible.
It's the got standard 7pin electric on the van (2007) but my car got the 13pin electrics. Now I know I can get the adapter so it all fits together for towing.
The question is what's the difference between the 7 and 13 on the van? And is it worth getting the 13 fitted to the van? Newbie here, many thanks 😊😊

Sam Vimes

Sep 7, 2020
Visit site
Basically a 7 pin connector only has enough connections to run the tail lights on the caravan.

The 13 pin connector has additional connections to be able to power things like the fridge and charge the leisure battery.

So if your car has a 13 pin connector it has all it needs but your caravan will need rewiring if you fit a 13 pin plug on it so that it can bring out connections from the fridge/charger etc.

What sort of caravan is it? Is it perhaps a European make.? I'm no expert but it seems odd to me that a 2007 caravan would have a 7 pin plug.

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
Strange that it doesn’t have either a 13 pin, or at least two connectors , grey and black, coming from the van. Look under the A frame to see if one may have been terminated for any reason; like rubbing on the ground and the previous owner did not repair or renew it. That year I would expect a caravans fridge, battery etc to be within the makers electric systems and connectors.

Sep 11, 2022
Visit site
Strange that it doesn’t have either a 13 pin, or at least two connectors , grey and black, coming from the van. Look under the A frame to see if one may have been terminated for any reason; like rubbing on the ground and the previous owner did not repair or renew it.

I didn't notice anything underneath but I didn't really click to be fair so it could be there 😂. I noticed the 7pin on top in the cradle which was plugged into the van.