Cable cutting

Feb 25, 2010
Visit site
Just wondered who has done this?

On a visit to the forest of dean last weekend we had a problem with our electric hook-up. 3 vans in a row kept tripping. We tried testing all vans in sequence to establish what was rong. to cut a long story short, it transpirred that my father (in van next to us) had put a peg through his electric cable!!!!! Luckily he had a plastic!!

Anyone else done this??

Gareth

Jan 19, 2008
Visit site
We did keep tripping the electrics at Marazion once. Between myself and the warden we found out it was an electric fan we were using that caused it. Warden was as good as gold with his help.

Feb 25, 2010
Visit site
amazingly, the man on the site could not establish what was wrong! My parents caravan had been ok for a day without the mains tripping. it was only when i started playing with the cables that i thought maybe a cable inside the plug had frayed! cut and re-connected the plug into site electric, but tripped again! then i tried the caravan end and found i could not get any loose cable to cut i realised it was snagged!! not for one minute did i think it would be snagged by a peg right through it!

Makes you think!!!!!!!!!

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
A CL owner once "shaved my hook up lead when cutting the grass. Didn't notice it until the dew settled on the grass, then the lights went out! He did buy me a new lead, though.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
I had my lead chewed by squirels several years ago at CC New Forest site. They were also partial to the grease on the jockey wheel. It got dangerous when they nipped the gas hose and a smell of gas alerted me to this. In those days the front lockers were more open at the bottom tha they are today. I cut the lead at the chew point and have used it when near to service points

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site