Can I tow a caravan if MTPLM is higher than my max towing braked weight as long as caravan isn’t full?

Jul 8, 2022
Visit site
So I’m new to towing and am looking at getting a caravan, I drive a 1.6 Peugeot 3008 and it’s kerbweight is 1496kg, and the max braked towing weight is 1090kg.

The caravan I’m looking at has a MIRO of 960kg and a MTPLM weight of 1200kg, as long as I drive the caravan pretty much empty and under the 1090kg limit am I okay to tow it?

Thanks

Nov 16, 2015
Visit site
Without looking at the legale stuff, - I would say yes, as long as you do not exceed your max train weight , GTW, of your car (towing vechile ).
Your thread might end up being a long one.
And bye the way , welcome to the forum. Don't get put off if the thread diverts.
Hutch.

Reactions: JezzerB
Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
So I’m new to towing and am looking at getting a caravan, I drive a 1.6 Peugeot 3008 and it’s kerbweight is 1496kg, and the max braked towing weight is 1090kg.

The caravan I’m looking at has a MIRO of 960kg and a MTPLM weight of 1200kg, as long as I drive the caravan pretty much empty and under the 1090kg limit am I okay to tow it?

Thanks
Yes that’s fine, but make sure you don’t exceed the cars specified limits of Gross Vehicle Weight and the front and rear axle weights. The noseweight of the caravan will act to increase the cars GVW and axle load.
You should be aware that a battery is not in the MIRO, but a single 6kg steel gas cylinder is. If the caravan has any additions like mover or solar panel if they were fitted as after market changes they aren’t included in MIRO. They are part of the payload.

Jul 8, 2022
Visit site
Yes that’s fine, but make sure you don’t exceed the cars specified limits of Gross Vehicle Weight and the front and rear axle weights. The noseweight of the caravan will act to increase the cars GVW and axle load.