Caravan Levelling

Nov 9, 2008
Visit site
Hello all you experienced caravanners. Just bought a twin axle van and am confused about levelling devices. What's the best way to level a twin axle van and what do I need to buy. Thanks in anticipation to all who reply.

G

I would have assumed the same as a single axle. You level fore and aft with the jockey wheel and side to side with ramps. You just need to use 2 on one side., although there may not be room to get the rear one in. I don't own a T/A so I have no direct knowledge

G

Your welcome, however I am sure there are many others out there who actually have T/A vans who can give more accurate advice. Whatever method you use, I always use a spirit level placed on the floor to get it right. Mine has 2 levels at right angles so you can see both dimensions. I know others place it on the A Frame, but my van has a casing and I am never sure if that is reflecting what the floor is doing. I also have a motor mover so moving up the ramps is easy and I can watch the level while playing with the remote. The big problem sort of, is for the 'boss' to put a chock behind the wheel on the ramp before it starts to creep back down. Keeps her busy though.

Jan 20, 2009
Visit site
Hi, the spirit levels with either the two glasses in the form of a T, or the bubble running around to find the centre of a ring are only comparitors, not an accurate level.

as above use a conventional spirit level in two planes, side to side and fore and aft to establish your van is level, when you have plenty of time at home. then install your comparitor using odd bits of whatever to give a level reading. Then you can repeat that level anytime but much more quickly.

Also decide what exactly you want level, floor, bed, cooker top or fridge, as for sure when you check they will all be different. Personally I use the cooker top, so my eggs dont burn on one side in the pan.

Jun 20, 2008
Visit site
Hi I have a twin axle,