Comments Appreciated

May 12, 2006
Visit site
Hello Frank,

*Sarcastic comment edited by Mod2*

Yes you are correct the KW of my car is lighter than the MTPLM of caravan it is 65KG short of the MTPLM.

We do not very often reach the total MTPLM of caravan only when we go to Cornwall for 2 weeks in the summer. I always load it carefully with heavy items over the axles etc. Also by the time me the wife 2 kids, 2 bikes on the roof of the car and other items loaded in the car, the car actually weighs then well over 1750KG. Before you comment back i do know you are only supposed to take the KW of the car which doesnt even include the driver??? I never understand this as a car fully loaded increases the weight & so makes the towcar heavier.

I have been towing for 16 years & this outfit is the most stable outfit i have had. Prior to this i always had single axle caravans.

I always drive sensible never exceeding 60MPH like some people.

Mostly around the 55 mark om motorways

Regards

David

Sep 13, 2006
Visit site
Eureka moment!!!

Frank has posted Davids post here to invite comments

I understand now.

If David is towing over 100% isn't he inviting attention from the police or highways agency (I understand they are particularly keen on this).

I am popping out for a drink tonight with a mate who is a motorway police driver, will ask him and post his view.

I have to admit using MTPLM and unloaded KW my outfit comes to 95% and is very stable.

However I do not think we ever approach the MTPLM and always put heavy stuff in the car.

When picking the van up from storage everything we have bought in the car remains in the car until the destination.

Nov 6, 2005
Visit site
It's not illegal to tow above 100%, in the UK, provided that the total outfit weight is within the towcar's Maximum Train Weight, assuming that both car and trailer are within their own respective maximum weights.

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com