Fuel Cost and Car Tax.

Jul 5, 2005
Visit site
I have not been using my van on bank holiday weekends latly, mainly due to difficultly in getting a pitch, i know i should book way in advanced, but another factor is the rising fuel costs are keeping us at home.

I tow a 12year old Ace Orbit with a 7 year old 2.0 Nissan Max, which is due to get hit next year with the rising cost of road tax. I can not afford to change the Nissan, so i will have to think about my future in caravaning.

My family and i have been caravaning for many years now, and have enjoyed many weekends away, plus some great holidays in Europe.

What i would like to know is , are there any other people like me who due to the fuel rising costs and road tax, are not even contemplating getting there van out for a bank holiday weekends or for there main holiday.

I would like to know from campsites owners if the rising cost in fuel is affecting there business, and what effect is this going to have on our hobby.

May 25, 2008
Visit site
Hi Kevin

I think ALL CC site had Full Signs for the last Bank Holiday Weekend. It looks like a lot of people aren't bothered, what would be interesting to know is how far people now travel to sites !!!!!!!!!!

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hi Kevin,

Your not alone although we choose to stay at home over bank holiday periods, as for one thing its crazy on the roads and you can bet your bottom dollar that the weather will do its usual. Today especially has been a real dilly.

Yes the rising cost of fuel to us, not big earners, is a real big issue, so much so, that we sold the one and only new van we bought in 2001 in over 25 years of caravanning. One reason the cost of towing it and second, it was nothing but trouble from the day we bought it. Thought we had bought a van that was last for years, 7 years later we sold it on, had a real guts full of it.