In need of some advice

Aug 18, 2012
Visit site
Hi there,

Im completely new to caravaning so I thought I would post here first to get some advice before I make too many mistakes. So basically I used to tour with my parents when I was a kid and as I have just had a little boy I hought it would be a good time to get a van and hope my son enjoys it as much as I did. So my plan is to fit a tow bar to my current car (which I also need to tow my trials bike) and hire a van for a couple of weeks to see how we all get on with touring.

So my question is, can anyone see any flaws in my plan or has any else had any experience with hiring a van??

Any advice/ critism welcome

Thank you in advance

Mart

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Mart,

Welcome back,

Your idea seems like a plan, just acouple of points,

Do remember to tell your insurers about fitting the towbar as most class it as a modification, but don't worry most dont up the premiums.

And secondly if you passed your driving test after 1st Jan 1997, then you must check the weights of your car and the hire caravan very carefully, as amongst other things, the caravans Maximum Authorsed Mass must not exceed the cars unladen weight. and the combined MAM of car and caravan must not exceed 3500Kg.

Trying before buying is a great idea, saves you spending a lot of money only to find it may not be for you.

Best of luck and I hope we end up with another young convert.

May 21, 2008
Visit site
Hi Mart.
John has covered the legal bits that you need to consider before towing a treat.

As for hiring a van that can be quite costly and could well cost upto £600 for a week. There are people hiring vans on flebay quite a lot cheaper than those in glossy magazines but you are open to them not being reputable.