insurance.

Jun 28, 2010
Visit site
hello again chaps.

as you helped me out with my aerial probs i thought i would try you on this one.

as i said , i'm new to caravaning and must say i'm loving it but have alot to learn.

the subject is, insurance,where to go for it? what to cover? etc etc.

many thanks.

garry

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Hi Garry

First I'd get quotes from the two Clubs, ie Caravan Club; and The Camping and Caravanning Club.

Read their covers carefully and make sure you understand all The Special Policy Conditions and Warranties , particularly in regard to security and theft risks.

Then by all means hunt elsewhere but just remember cheap is not the best.

Read the small print very carefully and be certain you fully understand it.

Quotes obtained over the telephone need care. Be certain you answer all questions accurately. If you do not understand the question ask again. They record these conversations and may use your answers against you in the event of a future claim.

In my experience as an overall package and peace of mind , the two Clubs insurance schemes take some beating.

Cheers

Dustydog

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Garry, take great care in getting insurance.

Whilst some plicies may look attractive, on price for example, there can be quite expensive hidden extras.

E&L for example look quite cheap except they quote per Lunar Month, not Calendar Month, so you actually pay for 13 months.

Also look very carefully at the security requirements.

The Caravan Club abd Camping & Caravanning Club only ask for either a hitchlock or wheelclamp, whereas others insist on both whenever the van is unattened, such a stop at a motorway service area.

I also urge you to lok at other forums and see what others say about different companies.

The main clubs may not be the cheapest, but they do offer unrivalled cover and in the event of a claim are usuall yvery quick and hassle free to deal with.