Jockey wheel blues?

Jul 18, 2017
Visit site
Some people with twin axle caravans have complained about issues with jockey wheel. I am wondering if the problem is because of the huge strains or pressures that are imposed on the assembly causing the clamp to distort resulting in the caravan dropping down the jockey wheel shaft?
Would make any difference if the jockey wheel was used to lift the front of the caravan as much as possible without having the assembly at its extreme.
This in turn will lift the wheels on the front axle creating less resistance of the tyres on the ground when turning and making it easier to turn the caravan. Also there will be a lot less pressure on the jockey wheel assembly and less strain on the clamp.
Not being an engineer I have no idea if this will help prevent issue with jockey wheel assemblies. Ours is a 2018 Cruiser nearly 4 years old and we have had no issues with the jockey wheel assembly.
Any thoughts from engineer type posters?

May 7, 2012
Visit site
Raising the front wheels of the ground would reduce the drag particularly on gravel pitches when turning and might increase the life of the jockey wheel if moving by hand. Most people have a motor fitted, though so that would normally require the front wheels down. Given the weight of most twin axle models, I doubt many people move them by hand.

May 24, 2014
Visit site
Raising the front of the caravan to lift the axle will put more weight on the nose, but will put less scrub on the tyres on the axle. Whether one or two axles on the ground wont make any difference to the turning pressures at the front.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
The problem of turning TA's especially by hand is the tyre scrub. During any turning manoeuvre at least two wheels of a TA have to move sideways rather than just roll.