new to caravaning and just want to say hello

Jun 12, 2014
Visit site
hello everyone im new to caravanning and just want to ask some advice before i set out on my first trip i past my driving test after 1997 and i own a 2000 reg Mitsubishi shogan 2.8 td my parents have just give me a 1990 swift challenger 390/2 se for my first caravan but would i be legal to two this with my car and driving licence any advice would be great

Mel

Mar 17, 2007
Visit site
Hi ade. Welcome to caravanning and the forum. Someone who is good on van and car weights will be along soon and let you know how the maths stack up.
mel

Mar 13, 2007
Visit site
hi Ade, welcome to the forum,
in reply I think it would be very close and you would have to get the outfit weighed just to make sure,
a quick google gives the shogun weight as 2086 kg empty with a max vehicle weight of 2720kg
the swift has a MTPLM of 950kg with a MIRO of 805kg so.
1. 2086 + 805 = 2891 kg and is legal
2. 2086 + 950 = 3036 kg and is also legal
3. but 2720 + 805 = 3525kg is border line and
4. 2720 + 950 = 3670kg is not
you could tow this outfit on your licence as the max weight is 3500kg but it would be a fine juggling act between the actual weight of the tug and the final loaded weight of the van. remember the tow load is the weight of the van minus the noseweight as this is carried by the towing vehicle,
providing the shogun was not at max rear axle weight before the van was put on, 3. could be under the total weight
weight as the nose load max is I believe 100kg.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
colin-yorkshire said:
hi Ade, welcome to the forum,
in reply I think it would be very close and you would have to get the outfit weighed just to make sure,
a quick google gives the shogun weight as 2086 kg empty with a max vehicle weight of 2720kg
the swift has a MTPLM of 950kg with a MIRO of 805kg so.
1. 2086 + 805 = 2891 kg and is legal
2. 2086 + 950 = 3036 kg and is also legal
3. but 2720 + 805 = 3525kg is border line and