New to caravanning

May 4, 2010
Visit site
Hi

I am new to the world of caravanning and I am looking for my first van I would like to know from the massive here what are the best tips for not only buying, but towing and safety too, feel free to give me any advice as I am a complete novice even the basic tips would be a help

Jon

Dec 23, 2009
Visit site
Hi Jon.

The first thing you need to do is find out what weight of van you can tow safely.

Type in your google search "what caravan can I tow"

Then once you know the weight then you will know what size of van to look for.

Have a look on www.caravanfinder.co.uk to see all the different layouts and that will also give you an idea what you can afford

Hope this helps

Mel

Mar 17, 2007
Visit site
Hi Jon. Welcome. Folks on this forum are really helpful but you may find you get more responses to narrower or more specific questions. I agree with Cath about the first steps. When you have got a clearer idea of the sorts of van you can afford and tow, ask again.

Hope you have fun looking. Once you have done what Cath suggests, it is a good plan to go to a show or large dealership and just spend time hopping in and out of vans to get a feel for the space etc. Take a notebook as you won't remember it all.

mel

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
Hi Jon

If you passed your driving test after 01/01/1997 you will not have a category B+E licence which will affect the weight of caravan you can legally tow. Have a browse through some of the legalities first of all rather than make a potentially expensive mistake by buying a caravan that you can't tow.

Towing Law

The Home Page of this forum navigable by clicking on HOME PAGE in the blue rectangle contains plenty of useful information for those considering taking up caravanning.