Nose Weights

Mar 1, 2006
Visit site
I'm new to caravanning and the forum having just bought my first van. Getting my head around most things but I'm still not sure about how to measure the nose weight. I've been told about bathroom scales and a piece of wood but how do you actually do it? Presumably you have to wind up the jockey wheel and put all the weight on the wood. Isn't this a bit dangerous? What happens if the wood breaks? I'm probably just being dim but could someone explain please.

Lynda

Jul 12, 2005
Visit site
lynda

make sure the break is on when you do it and use a good piece of wood.

all caravan shops stock a special tool to measure the nose weight and its not costly, however if the wood was to break the van should not move far as you only wind up the jockey wheel,not undo it completely.

If you are unsure, then I am sure a local vanner will help you. Just ask

Steve

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
Cut the piece of wood to a length that ensures that the drawbar of the caravan to stand at the same height as when it's coupled up to the car, making the necessary allowance for the height of the bathroom scales on which the piece of wood will be standing.

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
The page that Klarky is referring to is OK except for the statement:

"Keep the noseweight of your caravan around 100lbs or 45kg"

That is both misleading and incorrect as it does not point out the importance of staying below the specified maximum, nor does it point out that a higher figure, where permitted, is always beneficial.

Mar 9, 2006
Visit site
I find the best noseweight is to have as little as possible so as not to compress the rear suspension too much which retains a comfy ride.