Satellite TV Receiver - Free-to-air/Freesat

Aug 31, 2008
Visit site
Hi

After years of struggling to interpret French TV when on our summer hols (LOL) we have finally started down the road of Satellite TV. I had, and took, the opportunity to buy a Maxiview portable dish and tripod from a guy who was staying on the same site as us earlier this week.

I now need a receiver to use with the kit I have just bought. I am a bit ignorant on these matters!!!! Is possible to get a receiver that will receive both the free-to-air channels and Freesat or is that pointless anyway. We will mainly be using the Sat kit on the Continent but may use it in the UK sometimes too.

I would appreciate recommendations for receivers. I only want a basic type and not too expensive!! Do I, also, need a signal finding device? Again recommendations gratefully received.

Any other advice is very welcome too. I won't be offended if it is very basic - I'm very new to all of this.

Tim

Reg

Jan 12, 2008
Visit site
Hi

Yes there is a sat receiver which has both freesat and freeview it's the Technomate TM-6900 HD COMBO.

That's the good news but here's the bad..........

It costs about

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
We used a 54cm dish right down to the Mediterrean coast this year with no trouble and matched it to a Technomate freesat box. the box was about

Jul 11, 2006
Visit site
This is the sort of query that appears on this forum regularly.

The simplest solution is to get youself a secondhand Sky box - you will find them advertised on such as Gumtree for

Sep 13, 2006
Visit site
Free sat and Free to air are the same thing - the only difference is that the recievers which bear the new Freesat branding have better EPG ( Electronic Programme guide) information, more like freeview and Sky - which means that it is a bit easier to read and navigate.

The channel list is the same and does include Euronews even though it is not included on this list-