SO which one should I join

Aug 12, 2010
Visit site
I've read numerous (and in some cases quite funny) threads of your thoughts of which Caravan club is best

So which one should a Newbie join (seeing as I bought my first Caravan today).....I may over time like alot of you guys have already done and joining both, but for now while I'm easing into it (and not retired just yet) I only wish to join one.

The one that would give me

Travel to European quality van sites
Good discounts on ferry crossings etc
and pretty important to me is helpful advice at the sites once i get there (as I am a newbie)

Oh and a good bunch of folk who can handle me boring them to death about my life and experiences over a shandy or two.

Thanks in advance
Paul

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
Both clubs offer the things that you are looking for Paul and each club has it's plus and minus points.
If posts on this and other forums are anything to go by the Caravan Club is said by some to have better facilities such as wash blocks but it can be difficult to successfully book a stay at one of the popular site because the pitches are snapped up months in advance.
The Camping & Caravanning Club has a deposit system for it's main sites ( although not for it's 5 van certified sites) and it can be much easier to book pitches at C&CC sites but one night stays are not available.
The Caravan Club is perceived as being slightly more regimented than the Camping & Caravanning Club but both clubs have similar rules governing on site behaviour.
CC members choose their own pitch and C&CC are given a choice of available pitches by the site warden.
If you decide to try rallying the C&CC rallies have no requirement to book in advance and the CC rallies have to be pre booked.
The C&CC allow camping in tents (normally separate from the caravan area) and the CC don't.