Something is draining my battery - but how do I check what it is?

Jul 10, 2012
Visit site
Hello,
How do I check (using a simple volt meter) whether anything is taking current from my battery when the van is no attached to an EHU?
I'm not technical and would be grateful for instruction on how to do this.
I have a 2009 Coachman VIP 545/4 which is kept at a secure storage without electrical hook-up.
It is fitted with a Phantom tracker.
I have installed a nearly new 100Ah Elecsol battery which is fed by a trickle charge from a 4.8v solar panel.
Previously, on this forum, people have been very kind in advising me how to check that the battery is in good condition and that it is being charged whilst on site and that the solar panel is providing a charge. I had been having problems with the battery draining very quickly and this has happened again - within 3 weeks of returning from holiday, the battery was completely flat. I have brought it home and fully charged it and intend to re-install it tomorrow (Friday 31 August). When I visit the van, I'd like to know whether it is possible to check what (if anything) is drawing current.
The van is always left with everything switched off, including the master switch. The radio front is detatched.
Phantom assure me that the tracker takes virtually no current.
Help !!
Thanks

Apr 7, 2008
Visit site
I do hope that your solar panel is not 4.8v
smiley-undecided.gif

With out getting complicated one of the easiest ways to find current draw is to use one of these as every thing that you have on the van will go through a fuse on the main fuse board, you simply remove the fuse from the board & insert it into the side of the tester & then plug the tester into were the fuse came from.
You will see below how it works when items are switched on.
smiley-wink.gif

If nothing is draining power from a circuit it will show 0.00A......

Blackberry393.jpg
Blackberry394.jpg

Jun 11, 2012
Visit site