Vango Riviera Air 330/390 advice sought.

May 13, 2014
Visit site
Greetings to one and all!

In the next few days, we will be picking up our new caravan after a break of several years. My checklist of equipment needed is almost complete with just the awning left to get. We visited the NEC show in October 2023 and after looking at all the manufacturers we decided that Vango was our preferred brand. We previously had a poled Ventura Pacific full awning which was great but the cost of Isabella air awnings is a step too far regardless of the increase in quality.
The Vango choice is between the Balletto Air Proshield 390 and the Riviera Air 390 and I have one big concern about the Riviera that owners may be able to answer.
The pitched roof feature of the Riviera seems to create two very handy areas on the roof that could fill up with water when it rains. Is this the case in reality as I have no real-world experience?

Hopefully, someone who owns this awning will see this post and comment on their experiences.

Many thanks and any advice would be gratefully appreciated.
Paul

May 13, 2014
Visit site
It's hard to find a photo that will demonstrate what I mean but it's the dipped area that lies between the front pitch and the caravan awning rail. It seems the perfect water trap.

Attachments

• riviera-air-330-elements-proshield.jpg
    riviera-air-330-elements-proshield.jpg
    62 KB · Views: 9
Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
From the photo it looks as if the side is higher at tge van end than at the front. This combined with the slope of the roof from its Center line down to the sides appears to make a shallow V running from rear center to each front corner. That should drain water satisfactorily but on a level pitch, but not sure what it would be like on an inclined pitch. Air awnings have less adjustability than poled ones, so hope you get a reply from someone that owns one.

May 13, 2014
Visit site