Whats it all going to cost?

Aug 12, 2010
Visit site
Hello to the guys/gals I haven't met yet (I'm a newbie and you can find my Intro in the newbie section)

I just thought I would pick all your brains on how much I should budget for accessories, as a newbie to vanning I will probably be buying my van from a dealer for piece of mine but as with car dealers all the accessories will either be stripped off or not sold as part of the van.

So what basics would you need to enjoy a short weekend away (to break ourselves in) I'm not talking cups etc I'm talking more about kit for the van such as water carrier/gas bottle etc

Any help would be much appreciated

Jul 5, 2009
Visit site
Blimey, that for me is a bit of a how longs a piece of string question. It really depends on you really. We are now reaching our 1st anniversary of buying our first caravan, and we're still finding things to buy.

It really depends on the type of break your looking at. Are you going to be out and about all of the time, or will you be spending most of your time at the van?

I would say at a minimum you will need:
Fresh Water carrier
Waste water holder and waste water pipes
Gas bottle
Electric hookup cable
Battery for the caravan
Some chairs to sit outside the van.
Toilet chemicals
Bottle of wine
Hitchlock
Wheelclamp
Kettle

Bear in mind this is just my personal opinion, how much you buy depends on how you intend to spend your time in the van. I sometimes wonder how we manage to fit everything in.

We decided quite early on to buy things that we would normally use, to leave permanently at the caravan, that way we werent loading and unloading all of the time (makes for a quicker getaway). Now all we take to the van when we go away is fresh food, clothes and either the porch awning if its a short break, or our full awning if we're going away for a bit longer.

Rick

Rick

Apr 26, 2010
Visit site
I think that this falls into two catagories
MUST HAVE and WISH LIST

lets start with the must have