Write Off Insurance

Dec 29, 2011
Visit site
Hi. I'm new to caravaning and am looking at buying a Cat D Caravan from a reputable source. Can anyone advise on any insurance companies who would accept a damaged caravan for cover. The damage is very minor cosmetic (small dent) to the rear which to be honest is nothing so I would have no intentions of repairing. I believe an Engineers Report maybe required but I am struggling to find a price for have this done. Can anyone suggest insurance companies or advise on the cost of a report?

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
Hi Caravan Newbie, welcome to the Practical Caravan forum.
An independent report for a prospective buyer on the condition and road-worthiness of a touring caravan can be carried out by a mobile caravan engineer who is approved by the NCC. They will offer a quote for the cost of the report.
Click Here to find one in your area.
Contact the Camping & Caravanning Club insurance scheme Club Care who will advise you on whether they would be prepared to offer insurance cover on the caravan subject to an engineers report. You don't have to be a C&CC member to get a quote but it's often a bit cheaper if you join.

Aug 4, 2004
Visit site
What is a Cat D write off? Does it mean that the part was not available? What type of caravan is it as I am surprised that a dealer would even consider selling a write off even if the damage is minor. I am not sure if you can name the dealer although it should not infringe forum rules.

Nov 6, 2005
Visit site
Write-off categories for cars are as follows:-
A - Next to nothing left
B - Not fit to go back on the road
C - Major Damage but safely repairable
D - Just uneconomic to repair as far as INs. concerned
So it's quite legitimate to repair and continue using Cat C & D