Zeebruge - Provence toll route or not ?

Feb 3, 2006
Visit site
I have planned to have an overnight stop en route but I am not sure if we should travel via the autoroutes and pay an extra 90 euros or stick to the more economical and interesting non motorway route.Michelin suggest it will add another 6 hours to the journey, making it 16 hours altogether. We could of course mix and match depending on how the time is progressing, but I would appreciate your views/experiences.

I have no continental towing experience but I have a limited driving experience abroad. I appreciate it might be more difficult overtaking when I have limited vision too.

May 10, 2007
Visit site
Rioja.

6 hours extra may may be a conservative estimate. It does not take into account traffic and the handicaap you have being in a RHD car and not being able to overtake slow moving traffic if it's not travelling at a reasoannable towing speed.

It may be costly to pay the toll charge, but you will benefit time wise and with fuel consumption. The autoroutes are free running mainly with good steady constant speed fuel efficiency.

If you are concentrating on towing the van do you want the distractions of the prettier routes for you and your navigator on you first "wrong side" towing experience.

The autoroutes in my opinion is the best option with less distractions for your first Continental experiences. You are also less likely to take wrong turn on the autoroute or get confused by the road signs.

A good steady hassle free run with the caravan behind will give you confidence and aclimatise you to right hand side driving, for "A" road experience do that when the van is parked and get the hang of French rural roads as you explore your destination area.

James.

May 15, 2007
Visit site