Abi Monza 1400ct over-haul

Dec 5, 2016
Visit site
Hi guys newbie here (sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place)
I recently acquired a 1970's/80's Abu monza 1400ct and I knew it would be a complete strip out and overhaul job.

I bought it for £70 which I thought was a steal and still do and have been trawling through posts since trying to get the just of how to tackle this and here is my plan.
1) get a cover over her

2)strip out to the bare shell (timbert frame - what's left of it)

3) repair / replace where necessary ( again I think there will be repairs throughout as all corners have been affected by damp)

4) reseal all windows and awning rails

5) re-board, I am thinking of using just 3.6mm ply to save costs and then just painting this with a quality paint / primer. I know wall board is preferred but is there any real reason not to use ordinary ply? the boards will be connected with the plastic D strip things

6) make new furniture, same layout as original

7 ) go get my pension ( I am currently 23)

my main questions are,
when doing the frame I won't be taking the sides off so everything will be done from the inside and bonding this to the ally body using sikaflex is this right?

I am wanting to save costs so will standard ply be OK for the sides?

the current wall insulation is thin polystyrene, will try his suffice when rebuilding.

what's the best way to tackle it, sections at a time I'm thinking so the van doesn't collapse

I will be modifying it to electric only and having a sparky look over it before I commission her

I'm sure I will have more and more questions on this journey and hope you can all follow me.

Also I'm looking at keeping my spend below £800 (will be tackling it all myself) and i know it may not be worth it but me and my Mrs are getting married in April and this is will be my gift to her

sorry for the large post but I would be very great full for your help and support on this epic build

thanks

Apr 20, 2009
Visit site