Alternatives to the Sprite Musketeer

Aug 18, 2023
Visit site
Hi all, newbie here... I'm a long time camper, having camped/caravanned all my life in some form.

We've reached the point where, with 2 kids (4 and 6) going away in the tent is getting too much of an effort. Pre packing, set up, lack of storage, packing up after etc, so are thinking of switching to a caravan.

We have a Mazda 6 Sport 2.2D which is plenty capable of towing around 1300kg.

Looking at various ones for sale, it seems that there's just a total lack of sensible sized family caravans though.

Back in the 90s when I went with my parents, the 4 berth van with front dinette and rear bunks or double was the norm, now it seems they're just all slight variations of a fixed double.
We use the in laws bailey with this layout sometimes and it's just a bit rubbish for the size of it, for a family. So much wasted space and only one table.

I have essentially found the Sprite Musketeer, which looks like it was 2010-2012 only and this offers front plus rear dinettes. It's very similar in principle to my parents old Abbey Lancaster.

But I can't find anything else or anything a little newer.

Is there no other options that have 2 table spaces and don't weigh loads?

I don't really want a big thing, it's wasted space, harder for us to store and just baked life more difficult, puts the car too close to the limited plus won't fit on our drive when we need it to.

Suggestions welcome.

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
Our last van was a 2012 Musketeer TD. We bought it as we both liked its space and flexibility in a 6.5m package. At 1300 kg including payload upgrade itv had sufficient payload fir us and granddaughter plus two dogs. Putting the front bed up at night was a doddle, and the bunks and small double or single at the rear gave different sleeping options. Great van. But I’m not aware of any later model alternatives.

P1040713.jpeg

Mel

Mar 17, 2007
Visit site