Automatic or Manual tow car?

Oct 6, 2020
Visit site
I've been towing caravans for many years and we are currently on our 4th or 5th Mondeo Estate tow car. I currently have a 2L Mondeo diesel est 180 BPH manual gearbox 67 reg. I'm quite happy with it, but recently we got the "3 year itch". So we've been window shopping new or nearly new tow cars. It seems that the only options these days are automatic cars.... I've driven automatics in the past - but never as a tow car. The other recent development is the hybrid versions, which again seems the option "everyone" is selling. The advice I'd like is what is the collective thinking on automatic tow cars and Hybrids in particular. The hybrid in question would be what is called a (non plugin) mild hybrid from Ford. PS we did start looking at SUVs but they have nowhere near the boot space of the Mondy and in some cases are actually too light to tow a 1500+kg van. Thanks guys - Graham

Nov 16, 2015
Visit site
6 years ago, I was trying to find an automatic Modeo Titanium X. Could not find a 2nd hand one. Ended up with a Santa Fe.. Brand new 2014. Love it. Auto. Would not go back to a manual.

Jun 2, 2017
Visit site
We tow with a Kia Sorento auto. When abroad, stick it on Cruies at 60mph, sit back and let it go! Lovely tow car no effort, very comfortable. Arrive at your destination without any aches & pains.
Never dream of buying a manual again to tow with-why work when the car can do it all for you?
Mike

Jan 3, 2012
Visit site
12 years i have had either a MPV OR SUV it easier for me from my wheelchair my present car is a Brand new 2018 Volkswagen Tiguan DSG i also would not go back to a manual

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
For. towing an auto every time. If possible one with a torque converter auto box. Check if the mild hybrids have the required towing specification.

Jan 31, 2018
Visit site