Avondale Osprey

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
I'm planning to change vans later this year and have decided to buy a brand new Avondale Osprey. Any thoughts on this vans would be very much appreciated, I'd also like to hear thoughts on dealers with 100 miles (or so) of Ipswich.

Thanks in advance

Darin

Jan 21, 2014
Visit site
I have no experience of Avondale caravans, but the main dealer in Norwich is Drayton Caravans.

We have bought a couple of pre-owned vans from them in the past, and always found them good to deal with.:O)

spj

Apr 5, 2006
Visit site
Hi Darin,

I bought a new Avondale Argente in 2004, the worst thing I ever bought. Some of the problems I had include; front and rear panels were replaced, the oven nearly fell out as screws kept falling out, the fridge was wired up incorrectly, the water heater failed [wiring fault again] and the blinds fell to bits, most of these were covered under warranty as they were in the first year, but when the cusions started to sag after around 15 months Avondale did not want to know, they also refused to change the tyres as they were found to be cracking on its second service at 22 months old, all vans can have problems but the way the dealer or maker deal with them can make a big difference, Avondales warranty covers everything for 12 months, a further very limited warranty covers the second and third years, Avondale call this a 3 year warranty. I liked the Avondale, it was a nice van but Avondales severe lack of customer service let it down and I would never buy another, the tyres were a cheap budget brand which surprised me, if they skimp on a major saftey item like these what else is done on the cheap?

If you are looking at the 'bird range' these are not cheap, you can get a much better quality van for your money, try Coachman, Fleetwood or the german vans, they are all far better.

spj.

Feb 15, 2006
Visit site