B+E licence MAM question

Oct 22, 2023
Visit site
Hi Forum,

Utter newbie here. Really excited to become part of the caravan community, but I’m so confused about weights!! I’m working my way through everything, but I think I’ve got an issue with my licence v MAM and need sone help please!

I’ll try and keep this short…
Me - full licence dated Dec’99. BE added 16 Dec’21.
Car - 2016 A4 (early B9), 2.0 TDI auto avant 190bhp.
(Desired) Van - Elddis Affinity 574, 2023ish.

So as I understand it:
I can ‘only’ tow a MAM of 3500kg, due to my licence categories/dates.
My car and (desired) van MAM is 3,612kg. So that’s illegal 🙁

The way I read it, no matter how I slice it, I’ll only be able to tow small vans. If I get a lighter tow car, I’ve got more MAM room, but my MTPLM comes down as the tow car can’t cope.

I’ve looked and looked and because of the decision that the DVLA took dated 16 Dec’21, there’s no way to increase the MAM I can tow, unless I take lorry/bus tests?

So I guess my question is, am I right? There’s no my my licence will let me tow a van that’s of the size we need for our family?
Hoping I’m wrong and someone can put me straight!!

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Roger is correct, though do remember your licence only tells you what you are entitled to drive, it does not tell you what your car can tow. You still have to follow the cars specifications and legal limits.

Oct 8, 2006
Visit site
Further to what RogerL says above, HMG did away with the extra E test to become B+E during the pandemic as the queue for normal driving tests was getting out of hand.
However you need to watch the gross train weight (GTW) which is the larger of the two numbers at the top of your vehicle weight plate. Subtract the smaller number adjacent and it will show the maximum weight you can tow with that vehicle.