Brand new and slightly terrified!!

Apr 6, 2008
Visit site
Hi everyone, This site is great! Glad to hear there are so many other young families out there doing this (can I say I'm young, at 36??). There's me, hubby, kids age 4 and 20 months. We live in the North East and have just bought a Bailey Ranger 540/6. Pick it up next weekend! Too scared to use it until hubby has been on his caravan club course though (big respect to u self taught people!!) We're going to York (straight down the A19, not too scary) for our first weekend. The true test will be whether we manage to get the kids to sleep in their bunks! ha ha.

Can anyone give us a rough estimate of how long it'll take to get set up on site on our first attempt? Or is that a 'how long is a piece of string' type question?...!

Angel

Oct 9, 2006
Visit site
Hi Angel,

Welcome to the world of caravans!

When we purchased our first caravan a little 2 berth Bailey Beachcomber,the handover by the dealer left quite a bit to be desired. we arrived on a local site 1 hr later and totaly forgot what little information we were given. We spent ages trying to get the caravan off the towhitch, an hour trying to light the gas to boil the kettle only to discover that we needed to turn the gas on by the cylinder...I could go on and on with umpteen different things that went wrong, but we had great fun especially after a few cans of beer hahaha total setup time was about 3 hours.We now own a much newer and bigger Bailey Ranger and can set up within 20 mins its all a learning curve. My advice would be and the most logical thing to do is to ask as many questions as you can think of during handover and write them down!. But in reality logic escapes you in the excitment of owning your new van.

All the best and good luck on your first set-up!

Andrew

Apr 6, 2008
Visit site
Hi Angel,

Welcome to the world of caravans!