Can of Worms!

Apr 15, 2005
Visit site
I have been debating with myself whether to ask the following questions of the forum as the comments can get rather personal. So although I have been a member for most of the year I have been a silent one most of the time and after the following maybe some will wish I had stayed that way! But here goes, I am sure there are some of you who will give me honest answers without making me feel too bad.

Don and I have been campaigning for the past 18 months for standards for safe and suitable lifting devices for caravans, horseboxes and light trailers with fixed jacking point so that when in use you do not need to go under your van to place a jack in position where you think it should be.

We have now been invited to go to Brussels to present our case and also to take our product with us to demonstrate it as it fulfils all these standards.

We would like all lifting devices to be as safe as ours and have a specific jacking point for them to attach to so taking away the danger that the jack could part company from the trailer. There are still people who do want to use lifting devices and you can not always call recover to do certain jobs.

As we only found out about the meeting last Friday I do not have too much time to put together our case in document form but most of the technical advisers from the caravan magazines and other areas have sent me statements to the effect that they are in favour of safe, suitable lifting devices and also fixed jacking points, similar to those in cars. They are all of the opinion that ordinary jacks can be very dangerous and the towing vehicle jack rarely is compatible to the towed vehicle.

What we are short of are your thoughts and experiences of using lifting devices and if you know of any which have given way, slipped when been used or ones that are just were not suitable for the job you bought them for.