first time

Feb 17, 2011
Visit site
I'm going to view a Carlight Casalette 1975 classic caravan 2 berth. I am completely new to caravanning. What should I look out for - especially in terms of rust or other potentially expensive repairs? Any advice greatly appreciated

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
Hi, E H S welcome to the forum.
Carlights were the considered to be the Rolls Royce of caravans in their day and a good example in great condition can still command a very good price from enthusiasts.

First of all satisfy yourself that the vendor has the right to sell the caravan so make sure that you go to the vendors house. Check that the brakes and hitch are working and ask how long the tyres have been on the caravan. There might be plenty of tread but tyre sidewalls degrade after about five years exposure to UV light so beware of blowouts.

Check the road lights and look inside the lenses for signs of water ingress and note the condition and soundness of any exterior trim.
Check that the awning rails are not loose, check the mastic in the joints for signs of algae, dryness or cracking because this is the commonest cause of water ingress. Look along the body panels into the light for dents or signs of repairs.

Check the operation of the caravan door and the locking mechanism, and that the windows and rooflights are sound and show no signs of damp in the surrounding areas, especially the raised part of the roof with the small glass rooflights (windows) along the sides.