Hello everyone

Apr 13, 2017
Visit site
Can anyone give me any suggestions on what van to buy? I need a 5 berth van and I have a Renault kadjar signature nav 1.6 diesel to pull it. I am new to caravaning and want to get into it. Would be grateful of any advise.

Lee

Feb 3, 2008
Visit site
Looking on the internet your car has a kerb weight of 1429kg. The recommendations are to have a van of no more than 85% of this weight, giving the van's max loaded weight (MTPLM) of 1215kg, so this is your starting point. Most 5 berth vans will probably weigh more than this figure, so your search has to be very careful.

Click here

Aug 23, 2009
Visit site
Be careful of the adverts too because I doubt very much that the 2013 Magnum Explore that comes up on WC's very useful link comes in at MTPLM 929. Good luck with the search

Apr 13, 2017
Visit site
Hi WC

I've just been too Campbell's caravans to have a look around. I got speaking to one of the sales team and he asked what car I have etc and he says that I can look at caravans with around 1475-1500 mtplm. Obviously I questioned it and he showed me in his computer that my cars max towing is 1800kg.
I'm not saying u are wrong I'm just confused.
What's ur thoughts WC?
Kind regards
Lee

Feb 3, 2008
Visit site
Just because your car can tow a trailer 1800kg doesn't mean that trailer is a caravan. It means with a certain load the car can pull away on a certain incline with that trailer. Please read my posting again re industry recommendation.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
I am always wary about the way Renault (as a company) specify their Maximum permitted towed load. Where as most manufacturers will specify their maximum towed load as the difference between the cars Gross Train Weight and the cars Gross Vehicle Weight. Renault have a habit of using the GTW-GVW value plus most of the the cars own load margin i.e.