Mental Health ?

Feb 24, 2008
Visit site
As I work in mental health I'm interested to know what people think about the man who was diagnosed schizophrenic, and who strangled his wife nine years ago, becoming a black cab driver? I understand he is no longer deemed a risk to the public. This story is on our news here in the South East and I see there is an outcry and protest from black cabbies concerned that he may be successful in any bid to join them. Is it possible for somebody who has historically been diagnosed with schizophrenia to be rehabilitated sufficiently to be a black cab driver?

G

I assume it is possible if the medical experts deem the person to be sane enough to be allowed back into the community. Of course, if they have got it wrong, it is usually someone else who suffers.

However 25 years ago when I worked as an engineer in the North Sea one of my colleagues had a breakdown and chased his wife with an axe. Fortunately he did not catch her. However, he spent a period of time in a secure hospital before being given a discharge. He returned to work and was one of the few people who could produce a certificate stating he was sane. He went on to lead a normal life.

Nowadays we have the extra problem of good old Human Rights to contend with. If the person mentioned by Valerie was not given a job purely for this then he would be entitled to sue for damages, so I suspect that he will succeed as the authorities will not wish to risk a Court case.

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Whilst I understand your interest, I do not think a caravan forum is the right place to get thoughts on someone they do not know, have no idea about the circumstances and are not qualified to make any substantial contribution.

All health and Mental Health issues are PERSONAL, between patient and medically qualified practitioners, not for debate on a public forum.

I will be watching this topic very carefully and will have no hesitation in deleting it entirely.

G