Newbie looking for advice as to what caravan to match to Ford Kuga/Mondeo diesel

Dec 13, 2010
Visit site
Hi everyone, Im new to the whole caravanning experience and am in the forunate/unfortunate position of starting from scratch with both car and caravan - hence my choices sometimes seem endless!

Essentially I am looking for recommendations for a caravan I can match up with an economical diesel car (such as Kuga or Mondeo).
Other than the car our priorities are a fixed bed (I really cant face the idea of having to make up the bed each night!), a good sized kitchen and equipemnt and separate shower/toilet areas. There are only two of us so lots of living space and extra beds arent an issue. The intention is that the caravan would be used for weekends away and longer periods in UK and abroad.

So far Ive been looking at models like Bailey Unicorn Valencia/Coachman Amara/Lunar Clubman/Stealth X58 but am getting very confused as to what is important and benefits of different layouts.

Any help or guidance anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated and apologies now in advance for any stupid questions I might ask!
thanks

Mar 1, 2009
Visit site
Hi Snowydog.
Wecome to the forum and caravaning .
First of all you will need to find out the kerbweight of your towcar, then divide it by 100 then multiply that by 85 this will give you a safe MPTLM weight of a caravan to tow. This is the loaded weight of the van. Also check the manufacturers maximum braked towing weight of the tow car. As you dont want the van to be heavier than the car.
You could find the valencia and the stealth a bit heavy.

Dougie....

Jul 1, 2009
Visit site
have a look at the adria range the adiva is a good one and newer ones are 1500kgs and you can grab a bargin at venture caravans not a sales pitch but a sshort time price drop.Great biuld and poleyester body dont dent ive just got a new adora 612 dp and very happy large van on single axle and still light to tow .

Dec 13, 2010
Visit site