Overturning your caravan when towing?

jwa

Apr 24, 2010
Visit site
Out of interest really, with a hint of concern, I have been twoing for three years now, the furthest and longest a tour around the Loire Valley which involved towing through Paris. I feel that I am a competent tower, indeed, from being petrified at first I now actively enjoy it! I pay great attention, due to advice from this forum, to noseweight, payload and and go through a series of checks before setting off. This I enjoy and feel it is part of the whole "caravan" experience. I tow within my capabiltities, rarely getting much above 55 and have never had so much a twitch from the caravan behind me.

Yet again I hear on the radio of congestion on whatever road due to an overturned caravan and wonder how does this happen so regularly and why? Is it an easy thing to do or are there other factors involved as I'm wondering if I'm missing something in my general approach to towing?

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
JWa
Relax.

Clearly you paying heed to weights and loading .

IMO the ones you see spread eagled over the motorway are not the likes of you but the now and then towers whose tyres are " ten years old " , never had a service and are grossly overloaded.

Apr 20, 2009
Visit site
There was one last Thursday on the M5 just down from Bridgewater, daughter got caught up in it and our off was delayed by an hour.
Hope no one was hurt.

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
As Dustydog mentioned, by paying attention to your tyres, tyre pressures, loading etc and staying at a speed which will allow you time to detect the smallest hint of instability and take corrective action you are unlikely to feature on a radio report by 'Sally Traffic' to warn others that you couldn't keep your caravan shiny side up.
Sometimes novices are caught out by either overloading their caravan, with too much weight at the rear which induces a pendulum effect or with no weight at all.