ATC or not?

Jan 3, 2014
Visit site
We have atc on our single axle swift challenger and quiet fancy a twin axle challenger without. In the three years of our present van I have felt the atc kick in twice and neither down to driving style both were due to coming from road works back into finished surface and me being a little aggressive. Would you purchase with or without?

Apr 19, 2017
Visit site
Can ATC be switched on/off so one can assess whether one considers it useful ? Just curious. I have no experience of ATC, but equally have no experience of any nasty towing situation.

Jan 20, 2018
Visit site
VicMallows said:
Can ATC be switched on/off so one can assess whether one considers it useful ? Just curious. I have no experience of ATC, but equally have no experience of any nasty towing situation.
Dont know about turning it off as maybe the insurance would not advise it.but,we have the idc version of it.our has activated at approx 40 mph in a 60 zone coming to a roundabout.the dreaded lines acrross the road activated it and completely took me by supprise.sounded like i had a blow out.but did pull the van up straight in a line.this happened for approx 2 seconds.the only thing that came to my attention was does it apply the brake lights to warn driver behind that im stopping abruptly.
Staying with it i think better ,,yes is my opinion.felt positive about it afterwards,in that it is there as a backup.
Also do they make vanswithout it?

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
Surely the idea of ATC is to gently apply the vans brakes to correct detected yaw movements before instability becomes a hazard. Most users don't seem to be aware of when it operates though some do detect perceptible braking. But I've never heard of it bringing a van to "abrupt" braking.

In answer to you final question ... Yes

Oct 17, 2010
Visit site
I have ATC fitted to my van, only felt it once, one wheel dropped into a pot hole normally it never activates,

I think they can be retro fitted.

Damian