Collecting a new van

Apr 30, 2017
Visit site
Hi All
D Day is fast approaching and we will be travelling next week to collect our new Compass Camino 550 from the dealer. Wondered if there are any hints and tips anyone can give us as to what we should look for or ask when doing handover. We are complete novices and although we will video the handover information, any advice will be gratefully received. We have booked to stay for 4 nights on a site near by in case we find anything not working as it should :dry: because although it is brand new.... that is not always a guarantee :S cheers!!

May 27, 2014
Visit site
Certainly looks like a nice caravan - best wishes for the future - ensure all relevant documentation is present for the fitments in the caravan - user manuals for everything - cris documents duly registered - ascertain the owners obligations for the so called 10 year water ingress warranty - visually inspect the exterior for any dings or paint blemishes - retain receipts for all supplementary purchases - perhaps ask where the gas and electric switches isolaters are - ask about recommended tyre pressures - let the seller know you may revisit them within four or five days to remedy any teething problems - that way they cannot wriggle out of sorting any relevant issues - hopefully nothing transpires and you can enjoy your new purchase for years to come

Aug 23, 2009
Visit site
Make sure that you go through and inspect absolutely everything with a fine tooth comb and ensure you are happy with everything! Do not accept the likes of "that's how they come" for anything. The slightest niggle get it sorted there and then.

Do not under any circumstances be rushed it's easier to get things sorted on the day or to refuse to take the van until anything is 100%

Do not pay penny until 100% satisfied with all equipment and fit and finish. Inspection first.