help! I don't sleep well!

Aug 31, 2014
Visit site
Hi all I'm a newbie to this forum never had to post always find the answers I want but can't seem to find anything for my issues. We have had a tourer for 3 years and we hav about 5 trips a year we enjoy caravanning and don't want to give up but I can never have a decent nice sleep in our van. For 3 years we have tried changing bedding, positions etc but I seem to develop insomnia!!! Its either too hot too cold but I wake up at four and can't return to sleep by night four of a holiday imso wired and exhausted we usually end up going home. We have a 4 yeaz old and 7 year old so Im a busy Mum and really need to be alert! But I'm so exhausted andi just end up wanting to go home to get to our bed!!!! We currently stopped pulling out double bed as the cushions were bothering me so we sleep on singles and its much comfier. I use cotton sheets and lightweight sleeping bags so now I not overheating. So temperature and comfort have been eliminated. I still wake up early can't get back and the. Guess what? 9pm I'm knackered! I've stopped overeating and too much drinking to avoid indigestion anddehydration waking me up. Still doesn't work.....in fact I would say whenever we make a change it improves my comfort levels only. We think it might be I'm slightly claustrophobic and being in the dark in a confined space affects me. Hubby thinks this will improve when we upgrade to a newer van with a lighter decor (currently 1997 mid brown wood and velor curtains) I'm not sure if I want to invest in this lifestyle anymore if I can't function cos I'm so ill with lack of sleep. is it me?am I just not cut out for this or is there hope on the horizon we love travelling and the lifestyle but not grumpy tired wife/mummy and only short trips cos im a zombie. Would really appreciate people thoughts and advice on this. Thanks

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Welcome to the forum Mrsamg. .

Imo
three factors make for a real good night's sleep.